A Christmas Carol!

At last! This is the post I’ve told myself I’d post since last month, but have been too preoccupied to actually write and publish it smh ! My page has been rather stagnant for a while, and that is because of a new project that I’m in.

Drum roll please….

Ya girl is a Community Ensemble Member in McCarter Theatre’s 2016 rendition of A Christmas Carol, by Charles Dickens! I absolutely cannot believe that we’ve been rehearsing rigorously since November 3rd, and now that it is December 5th, over a month later, we will show the fruit of our labor starting in just two days! Can you believe that we are also sold out for opening night?

While it seems like I’m casually sharing this information, the joy and appreciation that I feel overwhelms me! This show has been a turning point for me; it is its very own chapter in the book of my life, and, at the same time, signifies a future world of professional theatres!
Since I was the age of four, I’ve been actively acting, varying from church plays to school plays, but a professional theatre?! This is my very first one! And I must say, I have learned so much: from the audition process, to rehearsals, to costumes, to tech week.. so much attained information! I am honestly so enlightened, and blessed to me in such a wonderful production!

Funny part is, I’ve seen McCarter’s production of A Christmas Carol about three times, once in elementary school, once in middle school, then the most recent being last year! All those times, I’ve always envisioned myself on that stage, but who would have thought that I would  be in the production the following year?! It’s crazy to think about it!

Now, while it’s been a great experience, it has also been a very stressful one (which is probably why I’m currently home, with a stuffed, burning nose, Mucinex, tissue boxes and a trash bag, on our only day off from rehearsal this week!) It’s been hectic having the first half of school in the mornings, rehearsals from 11am to 11pm, coming home to do homework, and staying up to 3-4am to finish said homework.

Now what’s missing from this schedule?! If you  guessed college applications and blogging, you are an absolute genius! My college applications practically have cobwebs around them, and with deadlines nearing, I’ve been internally panicking. But at the end of the day, I know that I will do what I have to do to make sure that I get it all done! Communicating with my teachers has been crucial to my sanity since this past month because they understand, and are flexible with me. But I can definitely admit that my energy and positivity has not been consistent since November. I mentally and emotionally shut down nearly 4 days out of the 5 school days we have, until after lunch, of course! Eating stimulates hapiness within me, and serves as a release for the stress!

All in all, I am looking forward to January! By then, my college work will be out of the way, the show will be rapped up, and I can focus on new projects! Y’all better send those invites to your New Year parties because I am in there!! Lol.
All in all, I am looking forward to performances for the rest of the month: Dec. 9- Dec. 31st! Tickets can be bought online at: http://www.mccarter.org

Merry Christmas to all!

Leave a Reply

